Board of Directors

For more than 35 years, Loren Pope counseled students and families to help them find the right college “fit.” Since 1998, Colleges That Change Lives has championed Mr. Pope’s message and today is a leading national advocate for keeping students at the center of the college search.

Today, a volunteer board comprised of college counseling professionals guides the non-profit organization, Colleges That Change Lives. Leading their efforts is Executive Director, Maria Furtado. Ms. Furtado has been extensively involved with CTCL since its inception and has counseled thousands of students about college choice. Having previously worked for two CTCL colleges, Ms. Furtado now devotes herself to the Colleges That Change Lives mission: helping students and families better understand the college admissions process to find the best college fit possible.

If you would like to bring the CTCL message to your school, community, or organization, please complete this Speaker Request Form. Our Speakers Bureau of experienced leaders from CTCL-member colleges will make every effort to add your event to their schedules. We appreciate your interest in learning more about Colleges That Change Lives.

Maria Furtado (she/her/hers)
Executive Director
CTCL, Inc.
San Francisco, CA
click here to email

Christine D. Bowman (she/her/hers)
Director (2013-2016), Chair (2017-2021)
Dean of Admission & Enrollment Services
Southwestern University
Georgetown, TX

Yvonne Espinoza
Yvonne Espinoza (she/her/hers)
Director (2017-2022)
College Counselor
Yvonne Espinoza College Counseling Services

Crys Latham
Crys Latham (she/her/hers)
Director (2016-2021)
Director of College Counseling
The Washington Latin Public Charter School
Washington, DC

Lydia Mann
Lydia Mann (she/her/hers)
Director (2019-2022)
Director of Admission – Outreach
Clark University
Worcester, MA

Sanjay Mitchell (he/him/his)
Director (2017-2022)
Director of College and Alumni Programs
Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter High School
Washington, DC

Gaelyn Rose
Gaelyn Rose (she/her/hers)
Director (2020-2023)
Associate Director of Admissions
Lawrence University
Appleton, WI

Lauren Sefton
Lauren Sefton (she/her/hers)
Director (2017-2021)
Senior Associate Director of Admission
Rhodes College

Memphis, TN

David Wagner (he/him/his)
Director (2016-2021), Treasurer (2018-2021)
Director of Admissions
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN

Rachel West (she/her/hers)
Director (2019-2022)
Associate Director of Admission
Agnes Scott College
Atlanta, GA

Christopher Wild (he/him/his)
Director (2018-2021)
Associate Director of Admission
Goucher College
Baltimore, MD

Brooke Yoshino, College Counselor
Brooke Yoshino (she/her/hers)
Director (2018-2021)
Director of College Counseling
Flintridge Preparatory School
La Cañada, CA

Virginia Buege (she/her/hers)
Director Emerita
Denver, CO

Martha O’Connell (she/her/hers)
Director Emerita
Taos, NM